How To Play: Suppressed

From The Blackout Club Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
The Suppressed Icon


Being Suppressed is a mechanic in The Blackout Club (game).

Description

Suppressed is a state the player character enters when grabbed by the Shape, falling off the map, or coming too close to a Sonic Fence. Being suppressed takes away the player's control of their character and makes them equivalent to a Sleeper or Lucid. The suppressed player character will walk and move around the map automatically and occasionally act like a Lucid - holding their Smartphone out with the flashlight on, reporting any teammates who are visible. The suppressed player will have an icon appear over their head to denote their suppressed status. The suppressed icon is a head with its eyes closed and a Ward symbol on the forehead. Players who have been suppressed can spectate their character and other teammates' in the mission through a third-person point-of-view. On the screen, the suppressed player will be informed Your Mind Is Not Your Own / A Friend Can Bring You Back.

The suppressed player spectating a teammate coming to save them.

Players can bring back suppressed teammates by waking them up. Suppressed players, however, will run away if they are alerted of teammates nearby and may inform nearby enemies to converge on their location. Suppressed players can be spooked by a teammate's Drone if seen. Suppressed players may run up to a nearby Sleeper, Lucid, or Red Door if they are alerted of any teammates.

Players can be suppressed two times in a mission. If the player is caught by the Shape, falls, or goes out of bounds of the map, the player character will die. Players who die cannot be revived and remain in the third person spectator view of the other players for the remainder of the mission. The now-dead player's body can be picked up and moved around by other club members. If all players in the match are suppressed or die, the mission will fail.

Strategy

A suppressed player as seen in game.
Being suppressed by the Shape.

Suppressed players can be revived by a teammate or left behind in the mission. To save a teammate, the player must be revived by a teammate by approaching and holding Controls / Controls / Controls for a few seconds. It is ideal to rescue a suppressed player by approaching from behind or from the shadows where the suppressed character cannot easily see the teammate; if seen or heard, the suppressed character may run away. The teammate saving the player must grab the suppressed character to revive them when the prompt appears on screen, within a few feet from the character.

Field items can be used on suppressed teammates like on regular enemies to stun and make it easier to revive. Throwing a Flash Bang, Foam Grenade, using a Sleep Tripwire, shocking them with a Stun Gun, shooting/stabbing them with a Tranquilizer Dart, or even throwing a Grappling Hook at them will all temporarily stun the suppressed character and open a short window to rescue them.

Trivia

  • There is a hidden achievement called "...But Not Forgotten" which can only be attainable when a player dies after being suppressed for the third time.
  • Jumping from a height onto a suppressed teammate and hitting the Revive prompt before hitting the ground can negate fall damage.
  • Suppressed TBC members will kneel when the Shape is nearby.
  • Sometimes suppressed player characters do have idle dialogue when suppressed, though the lines are very rare.
  • When rescuing teammates from being suppressed, the suppressed player's eyes can be seen vibrating intensely and stabilize as they're brought back.